Ok, yes I can admit it. Hello, my name is Cabrielle and I am addicted to all forms of the written word. I love books; new books, old books, traditional books, e-books, as well as any new forms of books that may come out in the future. I also love learning as much as possible about new subjects that interest or affect me. As we are preparing to adopt our children through the foster care system I have begun reading everything I can get my hands on that concerns adoption, foster care and parenting children who have experienced trauma. I am aware there is no way to prepare for everything our children will come up with or for the events that brought them into our home to begin with, but I owe it to them and myself to be as prepared as humanely possible. I have started a list of the books I am planning on reading while we wait for our children to come into our lives. I will then review each book and let you all know if I found it to be a helpful resource for those adopting through foster care. If you know of any books I should add to the list please let me know.

  • Instant Mom Niz Vardalos – Read and Reviewed

 

  • When Love Is Not Enough: A Guide to Parenting Children with RAD Nancy Thomas

 

  • Another Place at the Table Kathy Harrison

 

  • Practical Tools for Foster Parents Lana Temple-Plotz, Michael Sterba and Ted P. Stricklett

 

  • The Foster Parenting Toolbox Kim Phagan-Hansel

 

  • Shield: A Framework of Self-Care for Foster and Adoptive Families Sharla Kostelyk

 

  • Foster Care: A Survival Guide Ken Marteney

 

  • The Adoptive & Foster Parent Guide: How to Heal Your Child’s Trauma and Loss Carol Lozier LCSW

 

  • Parenting With Love And Logic Foster Cline and Jim Fay

 

  • Finding Katie: The Diary of Anonymous, a Teenager in Foster Care Beatrice Sparks (Editor)

 

