Image

Oh Nia Vardalos, I love your book and your story. I spent the entire time I was reading this book asking myself two questions; “Where has this book been all my life?” and “Why am I not besties with Nia Vardalos?” This heart-warming and eye opening book is a must for everyone, especially anyone who can answer yes to one of the following questions:

  • You are currently trying to conceive (TTC)
  • You have gone through (or are currently going through) fertility treatments
  • You want to adopt
  • You love kids
  • You know someone with infertility or who is adopting/adopted children

Nia Vardalos (writer and star of My Big Fat Greek Wedding) and her husband Ian went through years of fertility treatments before deciding to pursue adoption. After discovering that adoption is not as easy or time- efficient as they expected Nia and her husband began looking into adopting through foster care. This book tells the story of how Nia and Ian found their beautiful daughter and how the process worked for them. Nia explains the differences between types of adoption, the resources available for those wanting to adopt and addresses many adoption concerns.

I could not put this book down. Every page reminded me exactly why we want to adopt through the foster care program. I found myself wanting to hand this book out to everyone we know so they can truly see the beauty to be found in the process and to allow them to more fully understand where we are coming from as a couple struggling to build our family. If you want to have your heart lifted, enjoy tears and laughter and truly understand the hearts of those dying to become parents please pick this book up today. 

