Ok, I will admit it: I am a little crazy with the planning and wanting everything to be perfect and kid ready before the adoption agency comes to do our home study. Do we “need” to have the kid’s room complete and everything exactly perfect the very second the home study is done? Per the agency: no, a general idea of where things will go is perfectly fine.  Per my insanity: ABSOLUTELY! Every room (whether kid centered or not) should be freshly painted, perfectly in order and decorated. Poor Tyler, he really takes my obsessive need to have it perfect in stride. Last weekend Tyler and I painted the kid’s room and I used the Gift Cards we received from our adoption shower to order the new bed set and room décor items to make it just right. This weekend I was able to put it all together; we are only missing a few items that are still enroute to the house. I keep finding reasons to go stand in the doorway of the kid’s room and just soak in how close we are to welcoming our kiddos home. It is hard to believe. We have been working towards a family for over three years now and we are so close to that dream becoming a reality that I cannot wrap my mind around it all. I have to pinch myself a few times each day to be sure this is really happening. We are still waiting to get the crib from Tyler’s cousin and then all the kid places on the first floor will be complete. We will not have the second floor complete until later this fall when we can fix some of the cracks in the wall, repaint and create at least two more sleeping spaces and a play room. However, every time I walk down the hallway and glance in the rooms on this floor it already looks like children live here. All we are missing is the magical tinkling of a child’s laugh.

Now I am off to try and repaint the rest of the first floor and get the crib stuff set up before the agency comes to check out the house. Everyone send Tyler love and hugs because his wife is about to drive him crazy with the prep work.

Image

Painting the Kid’s Room

Image

The view from the hall. Still waiting to add a decal above the bed that reads”Every child is a story yet to be told”

Image

The Entertainment Corner (and you can see a corner of the bassinet)

Image

The Changing Area (with two of our Furbabies modeling) that will soon have a giant white “A” and “Z” hanging over the changing table.

